A Flash of Lightning

A Tattered Page [* citation needed.] is a new event celebrating books. For each round designers create a new, exclusive design inspired by an assigned book. The event bloggers are also required to read the book and take inspiration from it. I am thrilled to be included in round 1: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

While I watched the tempest, so beautiful yet terrific, I wandered on with a hasty step. This noble war in the sky elevated my spirits; I clasped my hands, and exclaimed aloud, “William, dear angel! And this is thy funeral, this thy dirge!” As I said these words, I perceived in the gloom a figure which stole from behind a clump of trees near me; I stood fixed, gazing intently. I could not be mistaken. A flash of lightning illuminated the object, and discovered its shape plainly to me; it’s gigantic stature, and the deformity of its aspect more hideous than belongs to humanity, instantly informed me that it was the wretch, the filthy daemon, to whom I had given life. What did he there? Could he be (I shuddered at the conception) the murderer of my brother? No sooner did that idea cross my imagination, than I became convinced of its truth; my teeth chattered, and I was forced to lean against a tree for support. The figure passed me quickly, and I lost it in the gloom.

from Chapter 7 of Frankenstein

Daemon Light is inspired by this passage and several others that mention lightning.

Daemon Light from Spyralle.

Daemon Light from Spyralle.

Daemon Light is a rigged mesh attachment with scripted lightning flash. There is only one size, which should fit most avatars in the normal range of stature, and there is no alpha, as lightning can pass right through the body – and Daemon Light does.

Daemon Light also comes with a static, non-flashing version with a HUD control for glow and alpha to give photographers a fighting chance.

The Cyan color is exclusive to A Tattered Page and will not be available after the event. There are also four other colors which are not exclusive. You can find all of them at Spyralle, flashing like Tesla coils next to the stairs. There is a free demo.

Spyralle Daemon Light - UltraViolet, Red, Gold, White

Spyralle Daemon Light – UltraViolet, Red, Gold, White

For more information about A Tattered Page and a shopping guide to all the participating stores, please go to this page:  http://atatteredpage.wordpress.com/

Shopping Guide: http://atatteredpage.wordpress.com/shopping-guide/

You will also find links to the outstanding blog postings about this event. Don’t just look; read! They’re wonderful.

Special thanks to guest model Tavish Flanagan.

This entry was posted in Events, New Release and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Flash of Lightning

  1. Pingback: A Flash of Lightning | DesigningSL

Leave a Reply

